Event Section
Bengal pair of Jaswainder-Mantu takes home gold


Srinagar, August 27: In the only final on the penultimate day of the 28th Masters National Table Tennis Championships at the Sher-e-Kashmir Indoor Stadium, defeated Jaswinder Singh Patheja and Mantu Murmu of West Bengal defeated Ravinder Kumar Sharma and Indu Sharma of Delhi 3-2 to take the top-podium place on Saturday afternoon.


With the remaining finals slated for the last day of the championships, the mixed doubles event in the 60+ naturally attracted the crowd's attention as much as that of the fellow players.


The Bengal pair, seeded just a place behind the Delhi duo, who is No. 3, did not begin on a positive note and lost the first games badly. Nevertheless, the fighting qualities of the Bengal pair came to the fore when it launched itself to level the score, taking the third and fourth games.


In the decider, it managed to sustain the pressure and wrapped it up to earn the gold and the trophy.


In the women’s 60+doubles category, two Maharashtrian pairs, Deepa Jain and Ujwala Marathe and Nutan Dhikale and Swati Suhas Agharkar, entered the semifinals. Indu Sharma and Sunita Mudgil from Delhi and Gayatri Adiga and Poornima Bhojaraj from Karnataka also joined them in the semifinals. 


In the women’s 65+ doubles, with the top-seeded and the title favourites, Mangal Saraf and Ranjana S. Patki directly entering the semifinals, three other pairs had to play their quarterfinals to get into the medals round. Maharashtra’s Mythili Sodhi and Rajeswari Mhetre defeated Gouri Dey and Sharbari Moitra of Chhattisgarh 3-0, Geeta Rani Rahariya and Kamlesh Jain Bakliwal of Rajasthan downed Rama Kamal Mangal and Anjali Kanetkar of Maharashtra, also 3-0, while Jyoti Kulkarni and Marina Ingrid Dsa from Maharashtra faced good resistance from Sikkim before overcoming them 3-2.




Mixed Doubles 60+Final: Jaswinder Singh Patheja/Mantu Murmur (WB) bt Ravinder Kumar Sharma/Indu Sharma (Del) 3-2 (7-11, 9-11, 11-5, 11-8, 11-8).


Women’s Doubles 60+ (QF): Deepa Jain/Ujwala Marathe (Mah) bt Padmini Desai/Bhavana Shah (Guj) 5-11, 11-9, 11-9, 12-10; Nutan Dhikale/Swati Suhas Agharkar (Mah) bt Bhavana Gopal/Sushila Devi Pillay (Kar) 11-9, 11-8, 11-3; Indu Sharma/Sunita Mudigl (Del) bt Geeta Kumthekar/Rohini Vasant Ailwar (Mah) 11-5, 11-8, 11-4; Gayathri Adiga/Poornima Bhojaraj (Kar) bt Neeta Kulkarni/Nisha Kapse (Mah) 10-12, 5-11, 11-5, 11-9, 11-6.


Women’s Doubles 65+(QF): Mythili Sodhi /Rajeshwari Mhetre (Mah) bt Gouri Dey/Sharbari Moitra (CG) 11-5, 11-4, 11-6; Geeta Rani Rahariya/Kamlesh Jain Bakliwal (Raj) bt Rama Kamal Mangal/Anjali Kanetkar (Mah) 11-8, 11-8, 11-5; Jyoti Kulkarni/Maria Ingrid DSA (Mah) bt Prem Jyoti Lama/Radhika Pradhan (Skm) 11-1, 2-11, 11-2, 9-11, 11-5