Event Section
Delhi boy Yashansh, Haryana's Gourang and Anjali enter quarterfinals


Sonepat, December 29: Yashansh Malik of Delhi accounted for sixth seed Dev Shroff of Maharashtra to enter the quarterfinals of the Junior Boys singles even as seventh seed Shivjit Singh Lamba of Delhi bowed out in the first round of the 11Sports 80th Junior and Youth National Table Tennis Championships at the DPS Hall here today.


In Junior Girls, fifth seeded Ishita Gupta, also of Delhi, along with eighth-seed Nikita Sarka of North Bengal made their exit in the pre-quarterfinals. But for these minor aberrations, all top seeded players in both the categories moved into the quarterfinals, to be played tomorrow.


All the top players had easy outings against their opponents but for Gourang Shakreja of Haryana who found a tough rival in West Bengal’s Rohan Ghosh. The Haryana lad had a bad start, losing both the first two games before making his recovery.


Down 0-2, Gourang overcame not only his pain on the right shoulder but his rival also to level the score and going all out in the decider to make it 3-2. In fact, the fourth game proved very crucial for him as he won it on extended points after deuce.


Taking it further, Haryana’s Anjali Rohilla made it very simple against Delhi’s Ishita Gupta to win 3-1 after losing her first game rather badly. But the win in the second, after saving two game points to level the score, must have provided her with the confidence to take the next two against the Delhi girl. Anjali, a slow starter as always, defended well with authority and patience which did not suite the Delhi girl’s attacking style.


Second-seeded Anusha Kutumbale began well to lead 2-0 against Sataporni De of North Bengal but the latter threatened her by taking the next game. However, the MP girl ended any further possibility of resistance from Sataporni.


The Youth Boys and Youth Girls pre-quarterfinals are underway and they would have to complete their day’s engagement as the concluding day tomorrow will see three rounds of matches, including the finals.




Junior Boys (PQF): Raegan Albuquerque (Mah) bt Ashwin Subramanian (Mah) 11-9, 11-9, 11-8, Akash Pal (WB) bt Mainak Das (NB) 11-7, 11-9, 5-11, 11-5, Anukram Jain (PSPBA) bt Wesley Do Rosario (Goa) 11-9, 11-7, 11-3, Payas Jain (Del) bt John Zamliana (Miz) 11-6, 11-7 11-8, Deepit R Patil (Mah) bt Jash Modi (Mah) 11-6, 11-2, 11-1, Gourang Shakreja (Har) bt Rohan Ghosh (WB) 9-11, 5-11, 11-5, 12-10, 11-7, Yashansh Malik (Del) bt Dev Shroff (Mah) 11-9, 12-10, 11-6, Manush Shah (Guj) bt Shounak Shinde (Mah) 11-3, 11-6, 11-4.


Junior Girls (PQF): Prapti Sen (PSPB) bt Anargaya Manjunath (KNT) 11-3, 11-8, 6-11, 11-7, Anjali Rohilla (Har) bt Ishita Gupta (Del) 6-11, 13-11, 11-5, 11-7, Diya Chitale (Mah) bt Aditi Sinha Mah) 11-5, 11-5, 11-9, Swastika Ghosh (AAI) bt Vanshika Bhargava (Del) 11-8, 11-8, 11-9, Manushree Patil (Mah) bt Yashashwini Ghorpade (KNT) 11-7, 12-10, 11-4, Poymantee Baisya (WB) bt Lakshita Narang (Del) 11-6, 11-8, 14-12, Radhapriya Goel (UP) bt Suhana Saini (Har) 11-2, 11-7, 11-3, Anusha Kutumbale (MP) bt Sataporni De (NB) 11-6, 11-6, 7-11, 11-7.