Event Section
Tamil Nadu and Karnataka share Sub-Junior titles as Vishwa and Yashashwini win finals


Chandigarh, December 23: Vishwa Deenadayalan of Tamil Nadu and Yashashwini Ghorpade of Karnataka shared the Sub-Junior Boys and Girls titles in the 80th Cadet and Sub-Junior National Table Tennis Championships at the Basketball Hall of Sector 42 Sports Complex here today.


In one-sided finals, the Tamil Nadu boy defeated his North Bengal rival Soumyadeep Sarkar 4-0 while Yashashwini won 4-1 against Kavyashree Bhaskar of Tamil Nadu. For both, this was their maiden title in the category.


If Vishwa was full confidence and playing percentage game, Sarkar was full of mistakes and was guilty of not able to keep ball on the table. On the other hand, Yashashwini was on a roll, particularly after winning the second on her third game point to go up 2-0. Kavyashree did manage to take a game off her, but it was too little and too late as the Karnataka girl was well on way to the title with a 3-1 lead.


Top-seeded Payas Jain, despite heavy fever, resisted for a while before bowing out to Vishwa Deenadayalan who accounted for him in the first semifinals 4-1. Another Delhi boy, who is India No. 2 behind Payas, did slightly better against Soumyadeep Sarkar but could not overcome the jittery as the North Bengal won 4-2 in the other semifinal.


Payas had a bad throat and was on antibiotic tablets because of the high fever this morning. But he played well until the semifinal before the Tamil Nadu boy, in fine nick, consumed him. Aadarsh, despite lacking in confidence, fought back well from 0-3 to take the fourth and fifth games. But in the sixth the North Bengal boy proved superior to overpower him.


Among the two Karnataka girls in semifinals, their top player Anargaya Manjuna was not convincing in her play against Tamil Nadu’s Kavyashree Baskar, her old rival, and went down 2-3. But Yashashwini Ghorpade made up for her teammate’s loss as she beat Haryana’s Suhana Saini in a tight second semifinal.


But the two Delhi boys—Payas and Aadarsh—will return home with their Sub-Junior Boys doubles gold after having beaten the Tamil Nadu duo of Vishwa Deenadayalan and Preyesh Suresh Raj 3-1.


Similarly, Anargaya made amend when she combined with Yashshwini Ghorpade to win the gold in Sub-Junior Girls doubles as the pair beat the Delhi’s Lakshita Narang and Tamanna Gulshan 3-2 in a see-saw final.


Suhana was leading comfortably at 2-0 before the Karnataka girl pulled her game a notch better to level the score. Yet, Suhana went 3-1 up and should have sealed the tie in the next game. But few crucial errors saw her ceding a opening to Yashashwini who not only the sixth game but also went on to take the next to enter the finals.


Titles for Oishik, Sayani


In Cadet Boys’ final, Oishik Ghosh defeted teammate and No. 1 ranked player Emon Adhikary in what was a fantastic outing which went down to the wire. Oishik needed two extended points to seal the fate of pre-championships favourites for the singles title. Earlier in the semifinals, Emon defeated Punjab’s Suhaan Gulati in straight games and Oishik downed Tamil Nadu’s P.B. Abhinand 3-1, after the opening game’s loss.


In the all-West Bengal final in Cadet Girls, Sayani Panda kept their top-seeding in tact to beat Maharashtra’s Radhika Sakpal 4-2.




Sub-Junior BoysFinal: Vishwa Deenadayalan (TN) bt Soumyadeep Sarkar (NB) 11-8, 11-5, 11-5, 11-2;Semifinals: Vishwa Deenadayalan bt Payas Jain (Del) 11-5, 11-9, 6-11, 11-9, 12-10, Soumyadeep Sarkar (NB) bt Aadarsh Om Chetri (Del) 11-6, 1-8, 11-6, 10-12, 9-11, 11-8.


Doubles: Payas Jain/Aadarsh Om Chetri (Del) bt Vishwa Deenadayalan/Preyesh Raj Suresh (TN) 11-7, 7-11, 11-8, 11-7.


Sub-Junior GirlsFinal: Yashashwini Ghorpade (KNT) bt Kavyashree Baskar (TN) 11-3, 15-13, 11-9, 5-11, 11-9; Semifinals: Kavyashree Baskar bt Anargya Manjunath (KNT) 9-11, 11-5, 14-11, 11-7, 6-11, 11-7, Yashaswini Ghorpade bt Suhana Saini (Har) 3-11, 8-11, 13-11, 11-7, 9-11, 11-9, 11-7.


Doubles: Anargaya Manjunath/Yashashwini Ghorpade (KNT) bt Lakshita Narang/Tamanna Gulshan (Del) 9-11, 11-6, 11-8, 9-11, 11-4.


Cadet BoysFinal: Oishik Ghosh (WB) bt Emon Adhikary (WB) 11-7, 8-11, 7-11, 11-5, 5-11, 11-4, 13-11;Semifinals: Emon Adhikary bt Suhaan Gulati (Pun) 11-8, 11-8, 13-11, Oishik Ghosh  bt P.B. Abhinandh (TN) 8-11, 11-1, 11-7, 15-13.


Cadet GirlsFinal: Sayani Panda (WB) bt Radhika Sakpal (Mah) 11-5, 11-6, 13-15, 11-9, 4-11, 11-6;Semifinals: Sayani Panda bt Sandika Bhattacharjee (WB) 8-11, 11-6, 13-11, 11-8, Radikha Sakpal bt Nandini Sakpal (WB) 11-8, 8-11, 11-7, 11-4.