Event Section
Deepit, Munmun emerge sub-junior champions


Greater Noida, November 11: Deepit R. Patil of Maharashtra defeated Yashansh Malik of Delhi 4-1 to claim his maiden Sub-Junior Boys title in the 11Sports National Ranking Championships (North) at the Gautam Buddha University hall here today.


In Sub-Junior Girls, Munmun Kundu of West Bengal emerged the winner after beating South Zone champion Nithyashree Mani of Tamil Nadu 4-1 for her first crown this season, despite being in the final in successive championships. In East Zone Munmun lost to Trisha Gogoi of Assam and today she made amends with better efforts against the Tamil Nadu girl.


Nithashree, who always plays a calculative game, could not match the power the West Bengal girl as she went 3-1 lead. This put enormous pressure on the Chennai Achievers Academy girl who failed to measure up to expectations.  


Deepit, who first avenged his East Zone semi-final defeat when he downed Dev Shroff, also of Maharashtra, and made most of his first chance in the final to beat the Delhi boy, who had to be content with the silver, like it happened at Siliguri. Then his finalist was Dev.


Deepit was aggressive and Yashansh, also an attacking player, found it difficult to adjust to his game plan and the pace. By the time he managed to regroup and win the third, the Maharashtra boy was in no mood to let the opportunity slip off his hands as he stopped his Delhi rival at eight points in all the games he won.


Preyesh Raj wrapped up the final in style, despite losing the third game to first time finalist, Ankur Bhattacharjee of West Bengal with a 4-1 verdict for his fourth successive Cadet Boys gold. The Tamil Nadu boy’s track record has been the best this season as well as in the previous one. Now, he is very much on course to claim the fifth national ranking title at the West Zone event at Thane, which is beginning from Monday.


Preyesh, whose mind always ticks at the table, is quick to assess his opponent’s strengths and weakness and adapts himself accordingly. The West Bengal boy was good in patches but lacked patience in spite of knowing the use of flanks and occasionally driving and returning well to the left-hander.


Maharashtra’s Pritha Vartikar, playing a percentage game, retained the Cadet Girls singles title when she outsmarted Suhana Saini of Haryana 4-3 in a thrilling battle. The fluctuating fortunes apart, the final took a decisive turn after the Maharashtra girl, trailing 3-6 at change of end. An error-prone Suhana failed to press home the advantage as Pritha controlled her game nicely to adapt to the pace of Suhana for her back-to-back crown.   






Sub-Junior BoysFinal: Deepit R. Patil (MHR) bt Yashansh Malik (DLI) 11-8, 11-8, 7-11, 11-8, 11-8.


Semi-finals: Deepit R. Patil bt Dev Shroff (MHR) 12-10, 11-4, 11-8, 11-3; Yashansh Malik bt H. Jeho (PSPBA) 11-9, 5-11, 11-1, 11-9, 11-5.


Quarterfinals: Deepit R. Patil bt Payas Jain (DLI) 11-6, 11-1, 7-11,5-11, 11-8; Dev Shroff bt Jayabrata Bhattacharjee (NB) 11-8, 11-8, 9-11, 11-7; Yashansh Malik bt Varun Shankar (TELG) 11-9, 11-8, 9-11, 14-12; H. Jeho bt Agniv Bhaskar (ASM) 11-9, 11-2, 11-9.




Sub-Junior Girls: Final: Munmun Kundu (WB) bt Nithyshree Mani (TN) 15-17, 11-9, 11-9, 11-8, 11-9.


Semi-finals: Munmun Kundu bt Mihika Rohira (MHR) 12-10, 11-8, 13-11, 8-11, 15-13; Nithyashree Mani bt Anargaya Manjunath (KNT) 7-11, 11-8, 11-7, 11-4, 4-11, 16-14.


Quarterfinals: Munmun Kundu bt Samruddhi ulkarni (MHR) 11-6, 13-11, 5-11, 14-12; Mihika Rohira bt Suhana Saini (HRN) 8-11, 11-8, 11-5, 11-7; Anargaya Manjunath bt Trisha Gogoi (ASM) 12-14, 11-8, 11-8, 11-3; Nithyashree Mani bt Vanshika Bhargava (DLI) 11-7, 11-4, 4-11, 12-10.




Cadet BoysFinal: Preyesh Raj (TN) bt Ankur Bhattacharjee (WB) 11-9, 11-7, 3-11, 11-3, 11-6.


Semi-finals: Preyesh Raj bt Arnav Aggarwal (PSPBA) 11-5, 11-4, 11-3; Ankur Bhattacharjee bt Shantesh Mapsekar (Goa) 11-6, 11-8, 11-7.


Quarterfinals: Preyesh Raj bt Shlok Bajaj (PSPBA) 10-12, 14-12, 11-4, 11-7; Arnav Aggarwal bt Tejas Narang (DLI) 11-6, 11-7, 8-11, 11-5; Ankur Bhattcharjee bt Anirban Mani (WB) 11-8, 11-9, 11-7; Shantesh Mapsekar bt Balamuragan Muthu (TN) 11-13, 8-11, 11-8, 11-8, 15-13.




Cadet Girls: Final: Pritha Vartikar (MHR) bt Suhana Saini (HRN) 11-7, 4-11, 11-6, 10-12, 13-11, 9-11, 11-9.


Semi-finals:  Suhana Saini bt VarticaBhrat (UP) 11-8, 9-11, 11-9, 11-7; Pritha Vartikar bt Nehal Venkatasamy (TN) 11-5, 11-6, 11-7.


Quarterfinals: Pritha Vartikar bt Kaashvi Gupta (DLI) 11-9, 11-9, 12-10; Nehal Venkatasamy bt Soumili Datta (WB) 11-9, 11-5, 11-5; Vartica Bharat bt Arya Songadkar (MHR) 11-7, 11-9, 6-11, 12-10; Suhana Saini bt Sayani Panda (WB) 11-9, 11-5, 11-4.