Event Section
Maiden crown for Karnataka girls; PSPBA boys retain title


Rajahmundry, December 24: The Petroleum Sports Promotion Board Academy (PSPBA) boys, as expected, retained their title in the sub-junior section beating Telangana 3-1 in the final of the 76th Cadet and Sub-Junior National Table Tennis Championships at the Cherukuri Convention Centre here today.


But it was Karnataka girls who won several hearts and maiden crown in the sub-junior category in what was a fine come-from-behind 3-2 triumph against Tamil Nadu. Maharashtra A earned the Cadet Girls, beating a determined Delhi 3-1 in the final, but their Cadet Boys could not replicate it against PSPB Academy as the latter emerged 3-0 victorious.



Manav Thakkar was, understandably, the star of the evening in PSPBA’s title triumph as he shaped the team’s fortunate by winning both his singles and also the doubles in the company of Raegan Albuquerque. But PSPBA lost their opening singles when Snehit Suravajjula easily defeated Raegan. But Manav came in the way of Telangana to deny them what would have been a historic occasion for a team that was making its maiden appearance. Nevertheless, Telangana can take heart from the fact that making it to the final itself was a great achievement.


Karnataka’s fortune turned around when both Archana Kamath and Kushi Viswanath combined well in the doubles to bring some respite to their camp. Normally a very dependent Tamil Nadu pair of Selenadeepthi and Yashini, were taken to cleaners as the Karnataka duo won 3-1. From there, it was Karnataka all the way as Archana beat 11-7, 11-4, 11-13, 11-7. The fast-paced match saw several rallies and good strokes being played with Archana taking sweet revenge for her first singles loss to Yashini.


With the team score level at 2-2, the onus was on Kushi to bring out her best against Yashini, who is a higher ranked player. But Kushi, shedding all inhibitions, went on the attacking mode right from the word go and it paid her rich dividends and eventually the team. Attacking on both flanks and playing close to the table, Kushi forced Yanishi on the backfoot and went 2-0 up.


But in the next game, Yashini came back very well and when it looked as if she would take the rubber to the decider, Kushi played some brilliant backhand shots successfully indulging in long rallies. What gave her and team the power was Kushi managed to keep the ball in play and on the table when it was needed to force her opponent commit the mistakes. Though she won the fifth game by a minimum margin of 11-9, she deserved all the limelight despite being in some discomfort during the final.



Win one, lose one


The Cadet Girls final too had all the thrills and it was heartening to see both the Maharashtra A and Delhi girls putting up a great show. Delhi made a bright beginning with Vanshika Bhargava winning her singles but Maharashtra’s No. 1 player Swastka Ghosh pulled back with a convincing win over Laksita Narang. Then she joined hands with Diya Chitale to win the doubles to up her teak 2-1 up before coming back to the table for the last time to win the reverse singles and seal the fate of Delhi.


The Cadet Boys final was along the expected line as PSPB Academy annexed the title beating Maharashtra A 3-0. PSPBA were too good but credit should go to Maharashtra for making it to the two finals in the Cadet sections.


In the semifinals earlier, Raegan Albuquerque played a wonderful waiting game to launch himself into a memorable win that brought back PSPBA from out of nowhere. Shivjit Singh Lamba was having an upper hand having taken a 2-0 lead in the decider. But a cool Raegan held his nerve and not only did he level but played brilliantly to put his side in the final and shut the voice of vociferous Delhi. But Lamba did all that he could, only in the first two games.



Results (Team Events):


Sub Junior Boys: (Final): PSPBA bt Telangana 3-1 (Raegan Albuqueerque lost to Snehit Suravajjula 7-11, 11-13, 6-11, Manav Thakkar bt Saroji Siril 11-9, 11-8, 11-2, Manav& Raegan bt Snejit& Siril 11-7, 9-11, 1214, 11-7, 11-3, ManavThakkar bt Snehit Suravajjula 11-3, 11-5, 11-4); Semifinals:PSPBA bt Delhi 3-2 (Albuquetque Raegan Albuquerque lost to Virmani Parth 11-5, 8-11, 9-11, 7-11, Thakkar Manav bt Lamba Shivjit Singh 11-6, 11-3, 9-11, 11-4, Albuquetque Raegan Albuquerque & Thakkar Manav bt Virmani Parth & Lamba Shivjit Singh 9-11, 11-8, 11-7, 11-8, Thakkar Manav lost to Virmani Parth 11-3, 9-11, 9-11, 3-11, Albuquetque Raegan Albuquerque bt Lamba Shivjit Singh 11-13, 6-11, 12-10, 14-12, 11-8); Telangana bt Goa 3-0 (Pala Parthi Saroj Siril bt Parekh Siddhant 11-9, 11-3, 11-3, Fidel Rafeeque Snehit Suravajjula bt DO Rosario Wesley 11-3, 11-6, 9-1, 12-10, Saroj Siril & Fidel Rafeeque Snehit bt Wesley & Parekh Siddhant 11-7, 11-8, 15-13).


Sub Junior Girls: (Final): Karnataka bt Tamil Nadu 3-2 (Archana Kamath lost to Yashini Sivshankar 6-11, 11-6, 6-11, 4-11, Kishi Viswanath lost to Selenadeepthi Selvakumar 6-11, 11-9, 11-5, 8-11, 9-11, Achana&Kushi bt Se;lenadeepthi&Yashini 11-4, 11-9, 5-11, 11-7, Archana Kamath bt Selenadeepthi Selvakumar 11-7, 11-4, 11-13, 11-7, Kushi Viswanath bt Yashini Sivashankar 11-8, 11-6, 6-11, 11-9); Semifinals: Tamil Nadu bt Telanagana 3-0 (Sivashnkar Yashini bt Garlapati Pranitha 7-11, 11-6, 11-6, 11-5, Selenadeepthi Selvakumar bt Jaiswal Varuni 8-11, 11-2, 11-6, 12-10, Salenadeepthi Selvakumar & Sivashankar Yashini bt Garlapati Pranitha & Jaiswal Varuni 11-9, 11-3, 9-11, 11-7); Karnataka bt Maharashtra A 3-0 (Kushi Viswanath bt Bohra Payal 11-5, 12-10,7-11, 11-8, Archana Kamat bt Sruthi 11-7, 11-6, 11-7, Archana & Kushi bt Sruthi & Manushree 11-6, 10-12, 11-7, 11-4).


Cadet Boys: Final: PSPBA bt Maharashtra A 3-0 (Alberto Lrruata bt Dev Shroff 8-11, 3-11, 11-5, 11-7, 12-10, Jeho H bt Deepit Patil 11-5, 11-7, 11-3, Alberto & Jeho bt Deepit & Ritwik 11-2, 11-9, 11-2); Semifinals: PSPB-A bt Telangana 3-1 (Lrruata Alberto lost to Balasuri Varun Shanker 11-9, 11-13, 4-11, 6-11, Himnakulhpuingheta Jeho bt A.Advait 6-11, 11-9, 11-6, 4-11, 11-1, Alberto & Jeho bt Varun Shanker & A.Advait 11-8, 11-13, 13-11, 11-9, Himnakulhpuingheta Jeho lost to Balusuri Varun Shankar 6-11, 6-11, 7-11, Lrruata Alberto bt A.Advait 11-7, 9-11, 11-4, 11-9); Maharashtra-A bt Tamil Nadu 3-0 (Shroff Dev bt Deenadayalan Vishwa 8-11, 11-7, 11-6, 13-11, Patil Deepit bt Ganesh Varun 11-8, 11-511-8, Patil Deepit & Nagil Ritvik bt Deendayalan & Ganesh Varun 6-11, 11-3, 11-6, 12-10).


Cadet Girls: Final: Maharashtra A bt Delhi 3-1 (Diya Citale lost to Vanshika Bhargava 11-2, 7-11, 9-11, 11-8, 7-11, Swastika Ghosh bt Laksita Narang 11-2, 2-11, 11-5, 13-11, Diya&Swastika bt Tisha Kohli/Vanshika 11-9, 11-9, 8-11, 13-11, Swastika Ghosh bt Vanshika Bhargava 11-7, 11-3, 8-11, 11-7); Semifinals: Maharashtra-A bt Tamil Nadu 3-0 (Chitale Diya bt Srinivasan Sharmitha 11-7, 11-8, 11-2, Ghosh Swastika bt Baskar Kavyasree 11-4, 11-5, 11-9, Ghosh Swastika & Chitale Divya bt Srinivasan Sharmitha & Baskar Kavyasree,11-5,11-7,11-3); Delhi bt Karnataka 3-0 (Narang Laksita bt Joshi Aditi 12-10, 11-6, 11-8, Bhargava Vanshika bt Manjuna Anargya 11-5, 14-16, 11-4, 11-4, Bhargava Vanshika & Tisha Kohli bt Joshi Aditi & Manjuna Anargya 11-9, 7-11, 11-8, 13-11).